Many car accidents happen in New Jersey each year. It is important for people who are involved in one to understand when they must report it and to whom. Those who fail to report some types of crashes may face severe penalties.
If people have minor accidents in which no one is injured, they are not required to report them. However, New Jersey law requires people to report any accidents that result in $500 or more in property damage or that cause injuries or deaths. In many cases, even minor accidents may result in property damage of more than $500. It is best that people report any accidents in which they are involved to be safe.
After accidents, people who are at fault should contact their own insurance companies. If they are not at fault, they should report their accidents to the at-fault drivers’ insurance companies and notify their own insurers as well. Immediately after an accident, people should remain at the scene and call 911. They should provide their statements to the police when they arrive. Leaving the scene of an accident is a criminal offense that can result in stiff penalties.
Motor vehicle accidents in which people suffer injuries may have complex liability issues involved. People who are injured in accidents that resulted from another driver’s negligence may want to talk to personal injury lawyers as soon as possible. If they are contacted by insurance adjusters after they have sought medical treatment, they may want to refrain from giving any recorded statements or signing any documents. They may want to tell the adjuster or insurance company representative that they want to consult with their own lawyer first.